About the production

A kaleidoscopic and unique insight into Sussex at the turn of the century...

Follow Sussex's greatest writer, Hilaire Belloc's adventures as he takes a spur of the moment journey on foot across the breadth of Edwardian Sussex with three extraordinary companions at the mystical time of Halloween.

On their four day odyssey, they travel 92 miles and drink 300 pints of beer! They quarrel, laugh and sing as they recount the legends of the Downs, speak of their first loves and meet some remarkable characters along the way!

Featuring five actors and live music.

"A fascinating piece of entertainment... a hymn of praise to Sussex and its countryside." ★★★★ - The Argus, Brighton


Tour Dates

Thur 5th Oct, 7:30pm Connaught Theatre, Worthing 01903 206 206 Tickets
Fri 6th Oct, 2:30pm & 7:30pm Connaught Theatre, Worthing 01903 206 206 Tickets
Sat 7th Oct, 7:30pm Memorial Hall, South Downs Centre, Midhurst - Tickets
Wed 11th Oct, 7:30pm White Rock Theatre, Hastings 01424 462 288 Tickets
Thur 12th Oct, 7:30pm South Holland Centre, Spalding 01775 764 777 Tickets
Fri 13th Oct, 7:30pm The Phoenix Theatre and Art Centre, Bordon 01420 472 664 Tickets
Tue 17th Oct, 7:30pm Belloc Theatre, The Oratory School, Reading Private school performance -
Thur 19th Oct, 8:00pm The Spring Arts and Heritage Centre, Havant 023 9247 2700 Tickets
Sat 21st Oct, 7:30pm Under Ground Theatre, Eastbourne 0843 289 1980 Tickets
Thur 26th Oct, 7:30pm The Capitol, Horsham 01403 750 220 Tickets
Fri 27th Oct, 7:30pm Fisher Theatre, Bungay 01986 897 130 Tickets

Cast

Myself Ross Muir
Grizzlebeard David Stephens
Sailor Lee Payne
Poet Jake Snowdon
Barman and others Karim Bedda

Creative

Adapter Ann Feloy
Director Nick Young
Producer Ross Muir
Designer Laura Kimber
Production Manager / Lighting Design Matthew Pike
Hair & Make-Up Jessica Barthel
Graphic Design & Illustration Richard Snaith

In Partnership With

The Four Men is produced in association with Worthing Theatres, South Downs National Park and Worthing Museum and Art Gallery's exhibition Inspired by the Downs, which runs from Saturday 19th August until Saturday 28th October 2017.

South Downs National Park - southdowns.gov.uk

Worthing Museum & Art Gallery - Inspired by the Downs




Production photography by Sam Pharoah - sampharoah.com

Gallery